Our Evening with Mary J. Blige…Lagos-style

Mary J. Blige singing "Real Love" live in concert at the Eko Hotel in Lagos, Nigeria

Mary J. Blige singing “Real Love” live in concert at the Eko Hotel in Lagos, Nigeria

A room full of adorning fans danced and sang along to the Queen of hip-hop/soul, Mary J. Blige, last night at the Eko Hotel Expo Center in Victoria Island, Lagos. The New Yorker in me came alive again as I recited all of Mary’s classics word for word. This was my first concert in Lagos, and I must say that I really enjoyed the intimate set-up. It reminded me of attending those fancy gala’s in NYC back in my banking and government days. I was surprised when oga (my boo) told me that I was “underdressed” for the concert. I originally had on jeans and a denim shirt, but took his advise and changed into my LRD (little red dress). I’m so glad I did, because we walked into a sea of paparazzi and a room full of beautiful people seated around nicely decorated round tables. Each table was garnished with decadent treats and spirits. Every guest was well attended to so that we could truly enjoy the performance….and we were not disappointed. Mary J. you are a legend. I can’t wait to see you in concert again….Lagos-style.

Leave a Reply

